Cevin Jones   

Cevin Jones

Chair, Eden, Idaho

Along with his brother and other family members, Cevin Jones operates Intermountain Beef, a custom feedlot. He served as chairman of the Federation of State Beef Councils and on the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association (NCBA) board of directors. He is a past winner of the Idaho Cattle Feeder of the Year Award.

Pat Binger   

Pat Binger

Chair-Elect, Wichita, Kansas

Pat Binger is vice president international, Cargill Protein Group. Binger has been in the red meat industry for more than 30 years, including 27 years in international sales and 16 years directing Cargill’s overseas network of offices.

Mark Swanson   

Mark Swanson

Vice Chair, Henderson, Colorado

Mark Swanson is Chief Executive Officer of Birko Corporation. He has more than 20 years of professional experience with some of the most respected institutions in the protein industry, including Iowa Beef Processors, ConAgra Foods and Swift & Company. He is a member of the National Meat Association, the National Cattleman’s Beef Association, the United Fresh Produce Association, the North American Meat Institute and Vistage International, a global network for chief executives. Swanson earned a BS in agriculture business and an executive MBA, both from Colorado State University, and is president of the CSU Alumni Association Board of Directors. Mr. Swanson frequently makes presentations on food safety to industry groups, government agencies and graduate degree programs.

 Dean Meyer    

Dean Meyer

Secretary-Treasurer, Rock Rapids, Iowa

Dean Meyer, a corn, soybean and livestock producer from Rock Rapids, Iowa, is a director of the Iowa Corn Growers Association. He has also served as chair of the Iowa Corn Animal Agriculture and Environment Committee and the Lyon County (Iowa) Pork Producers.

Dan Halstrom   

Dan Halstrom

President and CEO, Denver, Colorado

As USMEF president and CEO, Dan Halstrom oversees and coordinates programs and activities in 18 regions around the world. Halstrom works to ensure that the federation creates new opportunities and develops existing international markets for U.S. beef, pork, lamb and veal. Dan also oversees USMEF’s relations with its membership and the industry and works closely with all nine sectors of the federation.

Dan joined USMEF in 2010 after 27 years in the meat industry with Swift & Company, originally based in Chicago (now doing business as JBS based in Greeley, Colorado). As USMEF senior vice president of marketing, Dan was responsible for coordination of programs facilitating the marketing of U.S. beef, pork, and lamb. In addition, Dan oversaw industry relations and membership activities for USMEF. Dan assumed the role of USMEF president in September 2017 and became president and CEO on December 1, 2017. He is an ex officio member of the USMEF Executive Committee.

Dan began his role at Swift as a management trainee, and spent several years at the plant level before moving into commercial sales and eventually into international sales where he spent most of his career. As senior vice president of the international division for Swift/JBS (2000-2010), he oversaw global beef and pork operations for the world’s largest red meat company.

Dan was also an active member of USMEF for many years, including various volunteer positions and officer roles with the USMEF Executive Committee from 2005-2007, which culminated as Chairman in 2008.

A graduate of the University of Iowa, Dan was born and raised near Cherokee, Iowa, on a 1,000-acre grain farm with a 3,000-head cattle backgrounding operation.

USMEF Executive Committee

Greg Ahart Wanda Blair Neal Bredehoeft Dave Bruntz John Butler Will Frazee Steve Hanson Jennie Hodgen Marc Reiner

Greg Ahart

American Lamb Board
Davis, CA

Wanda Blair

Farm Organizations
Vale, SD

Neal Bredehoeft

United Soybean Board
Alma, MO

Dave Bruntz

Feedgrains Producing
Friend, NE

John Butler

At Large
Manhattan, KS

Will Frazee

At Large
Emerson, IA

Steve Hanson

Beef/Veal Producing &
Elsie, NE

Jennie Hodgen

Supply and Service Organizations
Roachdale, IN

Mark Legan

Oilseeds Producing
Coatesville, IN
 Conley Nelson Terry O'Neel Rob Preska Jack Shao Randy Spronk Jimmy Taylor Jay Theiler Buck Wehrbein

Conley Nelson

Immediate Past Chair,
Algona, Iowa

Terry O’Neel

National Pork Board
Friend, NE

Rob Preska

Bloomington, MN

Jack Shao

At Large
Austin, MN

Randy Spronk

Pork Producing &
Edgerton, MN

Jimmy Taylor

Cattlemen’s Beef Board
Cheyenne, OK

Jay Theiler

Boise, ID

Buck Wehrbein

Federation of State
Beef Councils
Waterloo, NE